Skip to content

Meal Maker Monday

October 19, 2010

Yesterday I posted my plan to get my time and tasks organized for the week.  Take a look at yesterday’s post to see what it’s about here.

Today starts Meal Maker Mondays.  I’ve seen via a lot of other blogs that this has worked for others.  Here’s the idea.  Take Monday to look over what you have in the pantries and in the freezer and make meal plans for the week.  The trick here is to not make big shopping trips based off of ideal meals for the week but to base shopping trips off of deals and make meals planned on what is in the pantry, refrigerator, and freezer.  The idea is to get as close to using solely what’s in-house as possible.

So here it is:

Tuesday:  French Onion Soup w/ Pan Toast – Need to purchase nothing.

Wednesday:  Chicken Soup w/ Rice – Need to purchase nothing.

Thursday: Fried Flounder w/ Roasted veggies – Need to purchase nothing.

Friday: Take out day.  The kid’s look forward to Domino’s Pizza all week: )

Saturday:  Crockpot Pork BBQ – Need to purchase cheap store brand bottle of cola for BBQ recipe.

Sunday:  linguine w/ Salad – Need to purchase nothing.

Monday:  Left Over Day!!! We freeze the leftovers in individual meal containers in case we don’t have time to cook for one reason or another.  So here we’ll be eating leftovers because of the Cub Scout meeting at 7pm.  No time to cook today!!!

So it’s all laid out.  I’m able to cook from what we have without issue except 1 bottle of generic cola for about $1.50.

I’ll do this every Monday so I don’t have to worry about what to eat for the week!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 9:16 am

    Smart to plan the meals out! Then you know what you are making with no question.
    Following you through baby blogger Thursdays!

  2. Ben permalink
    November 20, 2010 8:53 pm

    D–

    Who are you?! Completely different from the chica I remember from college! LOL Maybe, once I get my disastrous house in order and the holidays out of the way, I’ll be able to implement some of your amazing ideas! :) I’m gonna need to if we’re ever gonna have kids in this household! :)

    Miss ya, darlin! :)

    xo

    • DB Landes permalink
      November 21, 2010 2:13 am

      I’m not that different but I’m trying really hard to change my ways! I miss you, too!

Trackbacks

  1. The Tuesday Tidy | Myself… better.
  2. Set it up Saturday. Step 1 of 3 | Myself… better.
  3. Meal Maker Monday: Three Bean Crockpot Soup | Myself… better.
  4. Meal Maker Monday: Pork Loin BBQ | Myself… better.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

